Monday morning status quo

People ask what I actually do as a writer. It’s just gone 8am on Monday morning, and this is my life right now: I have my apron on, because I can’t write efficiently unless I do. My desk is scattered with notebooks and leaves of print-off and photocopies. The cat (Captain Oates) is at his station on the window-sill to my left, and my mind is fluttering with which neighbour’s cat I have to feed today, whether I can get away with not doing any shopping, how the boys are feeling about their upcoming exams, how excited I am about going to see Woodkid tomorrow, and how many words – good words – I’ll get done today. That’s my mindset. And I know that once I start, the 5 hours till lunchtime will disappear in a moment.

See you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

